What will happen to your Facebook account when you die?

Cyber space is full of active accounts for deceased users but there are actions that loved ones can take to ensure a proper digital legacy is left behind.
Facebook is on course to become a digital graveyard and by 2065 there will be more ‘dead’ accounts than living.

When someone dies in the 21st century, a digital legacy is left behind because some social media accounts remain active.
Each platform has different rules so now is a good time to establish the best solution for you
Facebook
You can choose to either appoint a legacy contact to look after your memorialized account or have your account permanently deleted from Facebook.
If you don’t choose to have your account permanently deleted, it will be memorialized if they are made aware of your passing.
I strongly suggest setting a legacy contact so your account can be managed once it’s memorialized. Learn more about legacy contacts and what they can do here
https://www.facebook.com/help/103897939701143
The legacy feature can be accessed in your personal setting, but must be created prior to your death. Of course you could give someone your login details but technically this is against the terms and conditions
The memorialized feature is by far the best option. It means that a final post can be made to allow people to leave remembrance notes, but your profile will not appear in search nor birthdays/recommendations in news feed
It is very easy to set up a legacy contact, and it doesn’t take much time at all to do so.
To add a legacy contact, do these things in order:
Go to the top right of your Facebook page.
Click on the downward arrow.
Scroll down to Settings and Click on it. When you do, you see General Account Settings.
Click Manage Account at the bottom of the list.
Type in a friend or family member’s name to complete your Legacy Contact.
Click Add.
Let the person know he or she is your legacy contact.
Click Send.

Instagram
Account memorialized but no changes can be made thereafter nor deleted

Twitter
Can only be deactivated if a death certificate is sent. But Twitter clearly states that it will not give access to a deceased user’s account regardless of his or hers relationship to the user.

Pinterest
Account deactivated if death certificate sent. Pinterest will not hand over log in details for a dead user, but it will deactivate their account if you send an email with a list of required information, including proof of the user’s death.

Email
Google users can set up an Inactive Account Manager to delete their email after a period of inactivity. Yahoo will let relatives and friends delete an account if they have proof of death.

%d bloggers like this: